Creamy Sun-Dried Tomato Soup

DSCF4915

 

Well hey there strangers! Longggg time no speak. Firstly, I apologize for going M.I.A- I needed to take some time off to focus on myself but, believe it or not, the very fact that I’m writing this suggests that I’ve finally settled. Since I last blogged, I’ve officially graduated, completed an entire grad scheme, moved house (L and I don’t live together anymore, sad times but much more on this next week) and scored my absolute dream job. It’s been busy… scratch that, it’s been hectic… but I’m very happy and am looking forward to getting back into blogging. I’m also pleased to report that I’m actually making a very healthy recovery and very rarely have intolerance-issues (!). That said, I still feel a million times better when eating this way so, at least at home, I the majority of my cooking and baking is still wheat-free and dairy-free.

Right, that’s all for now but, before I go, I just wanted to thank you for continuing to visit my blog in my absence- I’ve had over 7,000 interactions and am so touched. I MISSED YOU GUYS!

Love N x

 

P.S Note to self: fix camera, retake photo and never use dodgy phone camera again!

 

INGREDIENTS

– 1 tbsp extra-virgin olive oil

– 2 yellow onions

– 2 large garlic cloves, minced.

-1/2 cup raw cashews, soaked for at least 3 hours.

– 2 cups vegetable broth.

– 800g chopped tomatoes.

– 1/4 cup  oil-packed sun-dried tomatoes

– 1/2 tsp dried oregano

– 3/4 teaspoon fine-grain sea salt

– 1/2 tsp black pepper

– 1/4 tsp dried thyme

 

METHOD:

1. Place the cashews in a bowl and add enough water to cover. Soak the cashews for at least 3 to 4 hours, but preferably overnight. Drain and rinse them before using.

2. In a large saucepan, heat the olive oil over medium heat. Add the onion and garlic and soften for 5 to 6 minutes.

3. Using a handblender, combine the soaked cashews and the vegetable broth and blend until creamy and smooth.

4. Add to the garlic-onion pan and stir in the the chopped and sun-dried tomatoes. Blend on high until smooth.

5. Bring the mixture to a simmer, then stir in the oregano, salt, pepper and thyme.

6. Gently simmer over a medium heat for 20 to 30 minutes before ladling into soup bowls and enjoying with warm, buttered pumpkin bread.

Leave a Reply

