Homemade Flatbread

DSCF4536

Ta-da! This is definitely how I felt upon producing these warm, doughy wraps. True, they may still need some work to make them a bit better looking and portable but, hey, it’s a start right? Plus, the satisfaction of making my OWN wrap topped off my week of dreams- I honestly keep having to pinch myself at how fortunate I’ve been this week: I ran my first 10k, finished my degree, got a summer internship and posted on a Monday (It’s a miracle!) So, after a rough starts, it seems that hard work pays off and 2014 isn’t looking too shabby after all! Happy Monday friends!

 

Based on the ‘Easiest 5-Ingredient Spelt Flatbreads’ from ohsheglows.com.

 

INGREDIENTS (Makes 3 breads)

– 1/2 cup brown rice flour

– 1/2 cup spelt flour (I used this as I have successfully reintroduced it (hallelujah!) but if you’re strictly wheat-free use a wheat-free flour like buckwheat.

– 1/4 teaspoon fine grain salt

– 1/4 teaspoon baking soda

– 1/4 cup + 2 tbsp recently boiled water

– 2 tsp olive oil

 

METHOD

1. In a large bowl, combine the flour, salt and baking soda.

2. Stir in the hot water and oil until a dough forms.

3. Knead the dough with your hands, adding a touch of extra flour if it seems too wet, and form a ball.

4. Preheat a large frying pan over a medium heat

5. Grab a chunk of dough and shape into a ball roughly the size of a golf ball.

6. Place on a floured surface and roll into a paper-thin, flatbread-like shape (emphasis on the flatbread-like!)

7. Brush with a bit of olive oil and place, oil side down, in the heated pan.

8. Cook for around 30 seconds on each side and serve, with topping of choice. My favourite lunchtime topping is tuna and avocado but I had peanut butter, banana and dark chocolate the other day and it was heaven.

 

Note: I’ve yet to try storing these as they never last but the original creator has some tips at http://ohsheglows.com/2014/04/14/easiest-5-ingredient-spelt-flatbread/#ixzz32qpvqSiz

One thought on “Homemade Flatbread

Leave a Reply

