Ice cream

DSCF4475

 

Hurrah! I’ve finished my degree! It’s crazy. I can’t quite believe it’s over and I don’t think it will really sink in until we get our results but it’s definitely been one hell of a journey that I’m going to be talking about forever. On that note, nothing says ‘end-of-degree-and-the-sun-is-out’ quite like ice cream. As I don’t have an ice cream maker and the dairy-free ice cream in Whole Foods is so so expensive, this is a cheap, easy, intolerant-friendly version which L herself (the most ice-cream savvy person ever) gave the seal of approval … and compared to Ben and Jerry’s. It’s been forever since I had ice cream so excuse me whilst I just go lick the bowl.

 

INGREDIENTS

– 1 can coconut milk (the type that when shaken does not sound liquidy- Thai brands are usually good.)

– 1/4 cup cocoa

– 1/4 cup liquid sweetener (I’ve used both brown rice syrup and honey and both work)

– 100g dark chocolate (optional: for outer shell)

 

METHOD

1. Place the tin of coconut milk in the fridge overnight. It should get super thick. If it doesn’t you may unfortunately have the wrong type and it won’t work for this recipe.

2. When ready, open the can and pour off the water so you are left with the solid white coconut cream. Pour into a bowl and add the cocoa and the sweetener. Whisk until everything is combined. (You can use this as frosting as I do for my chocolate cake).

3. Pour the liquid into your chosen ice-cream mold. I’ve now treated myself to some Popsicle molds but have used cupcake cakes and ice-cube trays in my experiments be creative!

4. Place in freezer to set for at least 6 hours.

5. Melt chocolate and allow to cool to room temperature. Dunk the frozen ice-cream into the cooled chocolate. It should set almost immediately to form a firm outer shell- like a magnum.

6. Enjoy! Or freeze for future enjoyment.

DSCF4480

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Well, I never said this was going to be neat! Have a beautiful Monday readers 🙂

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

