Creamy Dreamy Hummus

DSCF4394

Normally, I try to be pretty positive about this new free-from lifestyle and, for the most part, it has been great and I feel so much better. But, I’m now at the re-introduction stage of my diet which, truth be told, is pretty crap. It’s a really long process- I have to introduce one item at a time, in increasing quantities, and once I’ve had it three times with no adverse effects, it gets to be on the ‘tolerate’ list. Sounds easy? That’s what I thought. But so far I’ve successfully introduced spelt and parmesan but when I had the tiniestttttt bit of cream last week BAM I was ill again and had to take a break from the whole re-introducing to give my system time to recover. Not that fun.

That said, something positive came out of this week… I learnt to make my homemade hummus! It was so good and so so so much cheaper than store bought- two tins of chickpeas and I’m sorted for weeks!

Oh and you can get the smooth store-bought consistency by shelling the chickpeas but if you don’t mind a slight grainyness I wouldn’t bother- ain’t nobodyyyyyyy got time for that!

 

INGREDIENTS

– 2 tins (400g each) of cooked chickpeas

– 1 tsp salt

– 2 medium/large garlic cloves

– 1/3 cup tahini

– 1/4 cup lemon juice (approx 1 1/2 lemons)

– 6 tbsp water

– Olive oil and Paprika for serving

 

METHOD

1. Rinse and drain the chickpeas

2. Mince the garlic

3. Add all ingredients and whiz (with a food processor or channel your inner student and use a hand blender!) until smoooooth!

 

One thought on “Creamy Dreamy Hummus

Leave a Reply

