Fluffy American Pancakes

DSCF4320

So it’s Monday. Granted, it’s 9pm on Monday, I’m still in my pyjamas from this morning and my eyes hurt from too much dissertationing. Nevertheless it’s Monday so, as promised, I’m posting! This week I’ve actually been fortunate enough to eat out for quite a few of my meals. However, one meal I was definitely in for was Tuesday night’s. For those of you in the UK, you’ll know that Tuesday was Pancake Day- which is quite possibly my favourite winter celebration ever (after Christmas, boxing day, new years, my sister’s birthday… okay top 10!) As if I needed another excuse to eat breakfast for dinner, it’d been a while since I hosted a get together so I recruited 15 of my nearest and dearest and a few bottles of wine and we did our best to celebrate the humble pancake!

Courtesy of the lovely Gwynth Paltrow, I made myself a big stack of these wheat-free, dairy-free beauties:

INGREDIENTS:

– 1 1/4 cups almond milk

– 1 tablespoon lemon juice

– 1 tablespoon melted coconut oil, plus more for cooking

– 1 tablespoon maple syrup, plus more for serving

– 1/2 cup buckwheat flour (I actually used spelt as I’m trying to reintroduce, more on this later!)

– 1 teaspoon baking soda

– 1/2 cup rice flour

– 1/2 teaspoon salt

– 1 banana, to top.

METHOD

1. Combine the milk and lemon together in a small bowl and leave to stand (this replicates buttermilk and makes them flufffffy!)

2. Sieve all the dry ingredients together in a slightly bigger bowl or jug.

3. Add the syrup and coconut oil to the lemon and milk mixture and stir.

4. Add the wet to the dry and stir just enough to combine – be careful not to over-mix (that’s how you get tough pancakes).

5. Heat a large pan over a high heat. Pour/Ladle as many pancakes as possible into your pan and cook until the surface is covered with small bubbles and the underside is nicely browned. Flip and cook for about a minute on the second side.

6. Repeat the process until you run out of batter. Serve stacked high with plenty of maple syrup and a bunch of gorgeous friends:

Picture 6

Leave a Reply

