Baked Sweet Potato Fries

DSCF4078

Finally! After countless trials and even more errors I have finally made baked sweet potato fries as crispy as they’ll ever be. I also manged to make dairy-free, wheat-free, refined-sugar-free oatmeal cookies that actually stay together but unfortunately I ate them all before I could take a photo so watch this space. I guess you could say it’s been a productive two days back at uni! Without further ado may I present to you my baked sweet potato fries:

INGREDIENTS:

– 1 large sweet potato per person

– 1 tbsp cornflour/coarse polenta per potato (I actually used rice flour for one trial and they were pretty good too!)

– 1 tbsp olive oil per potato

– 1/4 tsp salt (plus additional spices: I like 1/4 tsp paprika with 1/4 tsp cumin but I’ve heard cinnamon and sugar is good too!)

 

METHOD:

1. Line a baking tray with greaseproof paper and place in the oven. Preheat the oven (and tray!) to 200 degrees.

2. Cut potato in half and then slice into ‘fries.’ Put in a large bowl.

3. Toss the ‘fries’ in the flour and, once coated, discard any remaining flour.

4. Drizzle with oil and add seasoning.

5. Place on heated baking tray- ideally lined up and not too close as any overlap will cause the fries to steam and go soggy.

6. Bake for 15 minutes. Turn over and bake for a further 10.

7. Optional but time-consuming step: Once baked turn off the oven and crack open the door. Leave the fries in the oven whilst it cools for an extra crunch!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

