Go-to Green Salad

Greens

This is my absolute staple salad. It’s super good for you, can be eaten hot or cold (I prefer it cold) and can easily be transported in a tupperware. In fact, on Sundays I can often be found whipping up a big batch of this for a quick weekday lunch or post-gym dinner. I usually add whatever leftover toppings I can find (some of my favourite add-ins are sun-dried tomatoes, hummus and salmon) but this is the basic recipe. Today I had it with a dollop of creamy avocado sauce (recipe from ohsheglows.com, included below) and it was intolerant-foodie heaven!

INGREDIENTS

FOR THE QUINOA

– 1 cup of quinoa

– 1 3/4 cup water

– pinch of salt

FOR THE SALAD

– 3 cups chopped kale

– 1 cup frozen peas

– 4 spring onions

– 1 tbsp oil

– sprinkle of water

DIRECTIONS

1. Cook the quinoa as in my recipe for Hummus Crusted Salmon with Quinoa

2. Heat 1 tbsp oil in a pan and use scissors to chop the spring onions into the pan. Cook for 1-2 minutes.

3. Add the kale and a sprinkle of water to help it wilt slightly (don’t put too much or you’ll have soggy kale!)

4. Add the peas and cook through.

5. Add the cook quinoa to the pan and mix in the veg

6. Serve immediately or, as I prefer to do, allow to cool.

OPTIONAL THICK AVOCADO DRESSING

This recipe is adapted from ohsheglows.com (definitely worth checking out, my absolute fave food blog!) It’s meant to be a pasta sauce but I had it with my salad and it adds a really nice tang!

INGREDIENTS

– 1 ripe avocado

– 1/2 lemon, juiced

– 3 garlic cloves

– 1/2 tsp salt

– 1/4 cup fresh basil

– 2 tbsp olive oil

DIRECTIONS

1. Place all ingredients into a food processor and process until smooth and creamy. Easy Peasy.

Leave a Reply

