Baked Oatmeal

DSCF3232

Last winter, I swear I survived on porridge. As unglamorous as that sounds, it really is the perfect breakfast- and oh so versatile! However, it’s a pretty stodgy breakfast that sometimes leaves me feeling a little too full. This baked oatmeal is a little lighter and can be made in advance which is a major plus. Having spent my Sunday afternoon dancing my bum-off at my friend Jay’s Zumbathon (shameless plug for 3YourStyle if any of you happen to be in London!), my achy muscles and I were incredibly happy to wake up to this warm, comforting breakfast this morning!

INGREDIENTS

– 2 cups of rolled oats

– 1 teaspoon baking powder

– 1 heaped tsp cinnamon (I love the christmasy flavour, 0 calories and metabolism boosting properties of cinnamon but you may want to use a little less if you’re not as keen as me!)

– 1/2 tsp salt

– 2 tsp vanilla

– 2 cups almond milk

– 2 egg whites

– 1/2 cup brown rice syrup (or 1/4 cup honey/sweetener of choice)

– 1 banana, sliced

METHOD

1. Preheat the oven to 180 degrees.

2. Combine the oats, baking powder, cinnamon and salt in a bowl.

3. Add the milk, egg, vanilla and syrup. Mix well.

4. Spray a 9-inch baking tin with non-stick cooking spray and pour in the mixture.

5. Arrange the sliced bananas on top and bake for 30 minutes.

6. Cool and slice. If re-heating, place slices in an oven for 15 minutes.

I kept this simple but feel free to add raisins, chopped nuts, berries or anything you fancy. I served with a teaspoon of peanut butter and a dollop of whipped Greek yoghurt (if you have yet to try it, this is incredible- don’t overwhip though as it may separate!) and it was YUM.

Leave a Reply

